Month: September 2018

key stages

key stages

Key stages
The Northern Ireland Curriculum aims to empower young people to achieve their potential and to make informed and responsible decisions throughout their lives. The learning opportunities provided should help young people to develop as individuals, contributors to society and contributors to the economy and environment.
Key Stage 1 (primary school Years 3 and 4) builds on Foundation Stage experiences, and Key Stage 2 (primary school Years 5, 6 and 7) builds on Key Stage 1 experiences. As children progress through these stages, they move from informal to more formal learning.

Key Stage (KS4)
Key Stage 3 (KS3)

Key stages
This section looks at new ways of thinking about and organising assessment to ensure it has a positive impact on teaching and learning and pupils’ progress.
Assessment is at the heart of a successful curriculum and is a fundamental part of good teaching and learning. It enables learners to recognise achievement and make progress, and teachers to shape and adapt their teaching to individual needs and aspirations. Effective assessment enables learners to make smooth progress throughout their time at school.

Derby Virtual School works with children from foundation stage onwards. All transitions can be difficult for children in care, but the move from primary school to secondary school (from key stage 2 to key stage 3) can be especially daunting.
The Virtual School supports this transition and offers advice to schools about additional transition support for children in care.

Key stages
Options for this Key Stage
Most classes are taught in form registration groups, although students are split into six ability groups for Mathematics and eight mixed ability groups for Creative Arts and Design and Technology. The slightly smaller groups allow more individual attention in those subjects that include a practical element.